Alfredo’s Authentic Italian – Circular Quay

Was recommend by a nice lady I met on the plane from my flight back from Hawaii. Yup, I do enjoy talking to random strangers on flights, and so far, it has turned out pretty alright. Good to be given food recommendations, and to try out new places! This is actually my 2nd visit to Alfredo’s Authentic Italian my 1st and 2nd time visiting, I ordered exactly the same dishes.

20140719-182401-66241687.jpg

Front entrance

 

Always good to start with an entree of some kind, and my friend I was visiting with have a thing for carpaccio. Very thin slices of raw meat, with a simple drizzle of olive oil and dressing.

This is the beef carpaccio, I’ve had salmon and kingfish carpaccio before, but beef is something new to me. Once you get past the idea that beef has to be cooked, this actually tastes pretty good. The texture isn’t quite like fish, it’s slightly smoother and meatier, and I find it easier when you wrap some beef around a sprig of rocket and cheese, it will make it more palatable for first time raw beef triers. Better than beef tartar, I present to you, beef carpaccio

 

20140719-182450-66290146.jpg

Carpaccio Di Manzo

 

Now this is something I find easy to sink my teeth into. The tuna carpaccio, bursting with flavour, and the caviar brings everything together. It’s just so lovely, perfect starter. It is a lovely fresh tuna fillet sliced and served with prime seasonal herbs, lemon and a walnut oil.

20140719-182517-66317862.jpg

Carpaccio Di Tonno Farcito Con Olio Di Noci

 

Soup of the day. Not quite sure what it was, my friend ordered it. He does like his vegetables, so I suppose this is some kind of minestrone soup.

20140719-182712-66432599.jpg

soup of the day

 

Tomato based pasta with italian sausages, looks pretty good, a perfect tomato base sauce with good pieces of meat.

20140719-182739-66459256.jpg

Penne Con Salsiccia

 

Each day, the chef will prepare a pasta sauce with fresh ingredients. For today, my friend had a delicious fish with a pumpkin and cherry tomato sauce. Fish is perfectly cooked, sauce is delicious.

20140719-182813-66493802.jpg

Pasta of the day

 

Lobster in a creamy sauce, tiny handmade noodles. Both times that I was here the lobster was prepared perfectly well, and the handmade pasta was prepared and cooked well. Would have this again if I can, that’s for sure.

20140719-182841-66521402.jpg

Tagliarina All’ Aragosta

 

My favourite pasta. The spaghetti with clams, a simple olive oil with a splash of white wine, in bianco. This is done just the way I like it. The 1st time I’ve ever had a pasta vongole was in Melbourne, and I have been trying to find a delicious (in my opinion anyway) version of this, and wasn’t disappointed at all!

20140719-182905-66545857.jpg

Spaghetti Alle Vongole

 

The dishes I am looking forward to try the next time I’m back there is the linguine agli scapi, but first, I have to get my head out of the clouds, and stop picking the spaghetti vongole each visit. When visiting, it’s best to make a reservation. I don’t think they get overly crowded, but they do host quite a few large crowds. Here is a link to their website.

Check out the other reviews on Urbanspoon.
Alfredo Authentic Italian on Urbanspoon

Enjoy!

